## **REPORT on 41<sup>st</sup> FISA CONGRESS and GENERAL ASSEMBLY**

# held on Saturday, JANUARY 25<sup>th</sup> 2003 at Tucson Convention Center,

### Tucson, Arizona, on the occasion of ARIPEX 03

**Kuno Sollors** (D), President of FISA, welcomed the delegates and guests present. A special welcome was extended to the President of the American Air Mail Society, Allen Klein (USA) and to the European group of delegates present.

He read out the greetings and good wishes for a successful Congress and General Assembly received from MM. Roland F. Kohl/CH, Honorary President of FISA, Kurt Dahmann/D, Honorary Member FISA, E. Thomassen/N, Chairman FIP AirCom, Fernando Aranaz del Rio/E, FIP Director, Dr. P. Moeller/D-EAPC, W. van der Helm/NL-De Vliegende Hollander, H. Abfalter/A-Österr. Flugpostsammlerverein, G. Lachmann/D-DAPC, H. Kaps/D-IAPC, M. Szwemin/P-IKAR, R. Beiter/D-ILA, D. Malott/Can-CAS, K. Fitton/UK-BAeF, D. Mehta/India-Phil. Soc. of India.

He excused the Board Members MM. Nelson Eustis (Aus) and Romano Savini (I), who extended their best wishes and greetings to the members, delegates and guests attending the Congress.

The Board Members present were introduced to the audience:

Vice-President Dr. Stefan Bruylants (B), Vice-President and Honorary Treasurer Tony A. Roth (CH), Secretary General Jackie Lauwers-Bekaert (B), Hon. Editor Alexander S. Newall (UK), Board Members Gérard Collot (F), Dr. Bedrich Helm (CZ), John Johnson (USA) and Hans Mierl (A).

### **GRANTING OF AWARDS**

Alexander S. Newall (UK) was honoured as '**Patron**' of FISA for his dedication as Editor of the FISA Bulletin during twenty years and for his outstanding leadership in the promotion of aero- and astrophilately worldwide. He received applause and a standing ovation from the audience.

The Golden FISA Medal 2002 was awarded to Board member John Johnson (USA).

A Golden FISA Pin was given to Board Member MUDr. Bedrich Helm (Czech Rep.).

#### Literature:

A **Silver Medal 2002** was awarded to Walter Major (B) for the three volumes of 'La Poste Aérienne Belge' and to Walter Brandes (D) for the SCADTA book.

Delegates and guests applauded.

The President also informed the audience of the recipient of the **2002 George W. Angers Award**, posthumously presented by the American Air Mail Society to the late George Lauwers (B), Board Member of FISA and President BFV Cosmos, for outstanding leadership internationally in the promotion of astrophilately, 1958-2000, as well as supporting aerophilately and goodwill among all levels of philately. He was a dedicated researcher, exhibitor, judge and counsel to all interested in astrophilately.

The honouring ceremony was followed by the **General Assembly**.

1. The proposed Agenda was accepted.

2. MM. Alexander Bartoc (R) and Reiner Stimm (D) volunteered as Tellers and were confirmed as such.

3. The Report of the previous General Assembly (Wuppertal 2001) was accepted as published in FISA Bulletin No. 117.

4. The Secretary General's Annual Report 2001, published in FISA Bulletin No. 119, was also approved and accepted.

5. The Hon. Treasurer's Report was not available yet, but will be published in the FISA Bulletin as soon as possible.

6. Election of Members of the Directorate and Auditor (for a two-year term).

With the exception of John Johnson Jr, who expressed the wish not to be re-elected, as he resigned from all his offices including the AAMS, all other Board Members agreed to serve another term. All were re-elected and received applause.

The new Board Members were proposed: MM. Steve Reinhard (USA) replacing John Johnson Jr, Tom Frommer (Aus) and Dr. Hugo Goeggel (Col).

They were unanimously accepted by the General Assembly.

7. Fixing of the yearly subscription.

The membership fee for 2003 will remain unchanged, i.e. 0.50 CHF per member with a minimum of 80 CHF per society. For 2004 minimum will be raised to 90 CHF.

In order to raise income, FISA decided to operate a postal bid auction of aero- and astrophilatelic items, offered by members of our affiliated societies/clubs.

Material with short description and fixed price to be sent, soonest possible, to Vice-President and Hon. Treasurer Tony A. Roth by ordinary mail, not registered to avoid taxes.

From 2004 onwards regular auctions will take place with minimum price bid.

The proposition with regard to membership fee and auctions were accepted and approved by the General Assembly.

8. Discussion of motions and appeals – None received.

9. Auspices were granted to EAPC/Europäischer Aero-Philatelisten Club (D) for the planned exhibition on the occasion of their 50<sup>th</sup> anniversary, 24-26 October 2003 at Sindelfingen (D).

10. Time and place of next General Assembly 2005.

An invitation would be welcome from one of our member societies.

11. Communications.

FISA Website was redesigned and Vice President Dr. Stefan Bruylants (B) is still working on it.

Board Member Gérard Collot (F) informed the audience of the issue of three 'Icare' magazines in French on 'La Poste Aérienne Française'. Details will be published in FISA Bulletin.

On behalf of IAPC/Internationaler Aero-Philatelisten-Club 'Otto Lilienthal' (D), represented by Mr. Achim Lange, a Bronze Medal was awarded to Mr. Werner Helms (USA)

No further communications having been received, the Congress and General Assembly were adjourned at 11.30 a.m. The President thanked all participants. The General Assembly was followed by a FISA luncheon at restaurant 'El Charro'.